Gridiron Greatness

Tiger Tradition

2016 Citrus Bowl LSU 29, Louisville 9

793 All-Time Wins

3 National Championships

11 SEC Championships

25 Bowl Victories

Leonard Fournette Consensus All-American, 2015
All-SEC selections
Pro Football
Hall of Famers
College Football
Hall of Famers
Glenn Dorsey Lombardi Award Winner, 2007

National Award Winners

LSU has produced 14 national individual award winners, including a stellar 13 since the 2000 season. During the past seven seasons, Tiger players have combined to claim five individual trophies. LSU has also recently been the proud home of the National Defensive Player of the Year, with more Bednarik Award winners than any school in SEC history.

Heisman Trophy

Billy Cannon (1959)

Outland Trophy

Glenn Dorsey (2007)

Lombardi Award

Glenn Dorsey (2007)

Hornung Award

Odell Beckham Jr. (2013)

Manning Award

JaMarcus Russell (2006)

Lott Trophy

Glenn Dorsey (2007)

Rimington Trophy

Ben Wilkerson (2004)

Campbell Trophy

Rudy Niswanger (2005)

Nagurski Trophy

Glenn Dorsey (2007)

Biletnikoff Award

Josh Reed (2001)

Bednarik Award

Patrick Peterson (2010)

Tyrann Mathieu (2011)

Thorpe Award

Patrick Peterson (2010)

Morris Claiborne (2011)


Odell Beckham Jr. 12th overall pick, 2014


Total NFL
draft picks


first round
draft picks


Number one
overall picks


Straight Years of
4+ Players Drafted
Morris Claiborne 6th overall pick, 2012

2013 & 2014

LSU Makes Draft History

LSU led the nation with a total of nine draft picks in the 2014 NFL Draft.

LSU’s 18 players taken in the 2013 & 2014 drafts is tied for the most in the nation during that span.

Six LSU defensive players were taken in the first three rounds of the 2013 draft, the most selected from any school in modern NFL Draft history.

LSU broke the NFL record for number of underclassmen selected from one school with eight in 2013.

Odell Beckham Jr. was the highest drafted wide receiver in LSU history when he went 12th overall to the New York Giants in 2014.

LSU led the nation with seven offensive players selected in the 2014 draft. No other school had more than four offensive players picked.

Brandon LaFell Super Bowl XLIX Champion

Super Bowl Tigers

  • 59 Tigers have played in football’s ultimate game
  • 43 Super Bowl rings won by 34 different players
  • 8 former Tigers with mutiple Super Bowl rings
  • 3 Super Bowl rings for former Tiger Kevin Faulk
Tyrann Mathieu 2011 Bednarik Award Winner


  • 14 All-American DB's since 2000
  • 2 Thorpe Awards since 2010
  • 2 Bednarik Awards since 2010
  • 143 intercepted passes since 2008
  • 22 DB's selected in the NFL Draft since 2000
  • 6 DB's selected in the first round since 2000